Congratulations to the Recipients of the 2016-2017 Academic Awards!

Academic Award Program

The West De Pere Public School District believes that students should be recognized for outstanding academic achievement. Recognizing academic excellence is an important part of promoting achievement at West De Pere High School. The Academic Awards Program has been established as a vehicle to promote and recognize those students who have met or exceeded the high expectations of the high school program and curriculum.

2016-2017 Academic Award Recipients


Anna Allen, Brooke Ambrosius, Jackson Appleton, Damien Backus, Ryan Bain, Stephanie Bauer, Grace Begotka, Daphne Blount, Jake Bodart, Brooklyn Bostedt, Faythe Brennan, Jessica Brost, Nicole Brunette, Caleb Buboltz, Anna Carpenter, Joao Catao, Lukas Cherney, Madyson Clark, Hannah Cook, Madeline Coppens, Brandon Destache, William Detaege, Alison Dorn, Harry Dykema, Elizabeth Edinger, Isaac Fink, Hunter Folkman, Abigail Gorzlancyk, Keenan Graef, Kaitlyn Grossbier, Krista Groth, Amy Halbmaier, Savana Haverkorn, Kadin Hendricks, Lance Henning, Crystal Hill, Bayli Holtschlag, Chloe Irish, Joseph Janus, Alexandria Keiler-Klein, Sophia King, Kevin Kornowski, Kyle Kosobucki, Collin Langreder, Annika Lasee, Jaclyn LeMere, Alexis LeMieux, Miranda Liang, Megan McIlheran, Rachel McMorrow, Abbey Metoxen, Julia Meyer, Michael Milquet, Emily Moen, Cole Nelson, Quinten Norton, Katherine O’Connor, Greta Olson, Katie Olson, Marcus Owens, Calvin Perry, Lexi Psenicka, Kaeli Raasch, Emily Radka, Carlee Reese, Maxwell Ricker, Samuel Ricker, Tyler Schwartz, Alex Serwin, Emily Serwin, John Shoemaker, Leo Skarlupka, McKayla Smits, Allyson Sommer, Hannah Stefaniak, Olivia Thomson, Spencer Thyssen, Riley VandeVen, Jarod Siekman-Verboort, Morgan Wagner, Rachel Welter, Samuel Wessley, Emmalee Wilson, Danielle Wyatt


Emma Albers, Morgan Baeten, Savannah Boncher, Ashley Borchert, Morgan Bothun, Olivia Bowe, Brandon Buck, Sydney Calaway, Samantha Carriveau, Zachary Charapata, Abigail Charlier, Alyse Cherveny, Karson Corcoran, Morgan Cornelius, Mackenzie Cumbers, James Daanen, Emily Day, Sophia DeCleene, Kasey Denis, Brehna Evans, Dane Federman, Jadyn Forgette, Holly Gildernick, Allison Grassel, Ashley Harrison, Dawson Hoffmann, Rachel Holzem, Jennifer Huettl, Cal Jensen, Caroline Kandravi, Drew Kocken, Carissa Konop, Cal Konshak, Bayley Lau, Hannah Levin, Brooke Lindquist, Amanda Lukowicz, Molly Mapes, Bridget Massey, Cara McCutchin, Allison Meneau, Madison Moran, Samantha Nohr, Natalie Novak, Dale Olson, Nicholas Pawlak, Mallory Pelon, Ella Perry, Haley Powers, Carmen Reed, Jenna Rollin, Logan Schmidt, Katelin Sitkoski, Aaron Skubal, Colin Skubal, Ireland Slattery, Madison Stoffel, Marisa Swiecichowski, Haley Teske, Christopher Thiesfeldt, Jordan Thiry, Cory Timm, Maria Tomashek, Samantha Turriff, Devin Tyler, Madeline VandeHey, Brady VanEnkevort, Alexander Wagner, Alyssa Wagner, Jordan Wagner, Rachel Wegner, Zachary Wenger, Lauren Widas


Mercedes Ackley, Sydney Appleton, Brooke Bemowski, Spencer Borley, Ella Boudry, Andrew DeBruin, Karson Corcoran Collin Fayas, Ciarra Hardtke, Elena Hill, Hannah Kraftcheck, Charles Kriescher, Christine Neuville, Bennett Olson, Sydney Romandine, Katie Schauer, Savannah Schmitt, Mason Shefchik, Sophia Tanzi, John Tomashek, Sage Voyles, Kaitlyn Wall, Reese Wunderlich.

Congratulations to the Science Department!

All of the science instructors were honored with a Golden Apple award for their dedication to their students at West De Pere High School.

"If you were to walk into any one of our classrooms today or any other day, you're going to see students working with models, working in the lab and using real-world situations to give them some practical experience," said Ashley Anthon, the anatomy and physiology teacher at West De Pere High School.

Ashley Anthon, Clara Hedrich, Joe Rukamp, Dana Lex, Kevin Olm, Jack Batten, Craig Zellner and Rochelle Coopman are all a part of the science department at West De Pere High School. Each of them are recipients of 2013 Golden Apple awards.

Their years of teaching experience vary, but they all share the same passion of working together to make science fun for their students.

"I'm not a teacher that can stand up there for a 70-minute class period," said Rochelle Coopman, a chemistry and biology teacher. "We try to get the kids up and moving, doing different activities."

Anthon gives her students hands-on lessons in anatomy with life-like models to work with. She also took her students on a field trip to a cadaver lab this year, making for an unforgettable experience for some.

"It's a lot of anxiety going in because you know you're going to see dead bodies, but it was really interesting," said Paige Bani, a senior in Anthon's anatomy class.

It's the hands-on lessons that are getting students -- like Bani --  more excited about science, and earning this group of educators a bushel of Golden Apples.

(Courtesy of Fox 11 News)